

Tel: 01604 349310

Annual Council Meeting and Mayor Making

16th May 2022

To: All Northampton Town Councillors

You are summoned to attend the Annual Meeting and Mayor Making of Northampton Town Council to be held in the Council Chamber at the Guildhall, Northampton at 11.00 on Monday 16th May 2022 when the business set out below will be transacted.

Stuart Carter Town Clerk 10th May 2022

AGENDA

1. Election of Town Mayor

Councillor Mike Hallam will propose and Councillor Jane Birch will second: That Councillor Dennis Meredith be elected Town Mayor of Northampton for the ensuing Municipal Year. Upon election Councillor Meredith will make the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and then address the Council. He will be advising that Mrs Rona Meredith will be acting as Mayoress during his term of office.

2. Vote of thanks to Outgoing Mayor and Consort

Councillor Jane Birch will propose and Councillor Jackie Fuchshuber will second: That a vote of thanks be given to the outgoing Mayor and Consort

3. Election of Deputy Town Mayor

Councillor Rufia Ashraf will propose and Councillor Andrew Kilbride will second: That Councillor Stephen Hibbert be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Northampton Upon election the Deputy Town Mayor will make the Statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

4. Apologies for Absence

To receive and accept apologies for absence

5. Declarations of Interest

To receive declarations of interest in accordance with the code of conduct

6. Mayoral Appointments

The Town Mayor will appoint the following: Mayor's Chaplain – Father Brendon McDermott Macebearer – Mr Dave Peach Mayor's Cadet – Leading Cadet Azaria Corsaro Mayor's Charities – St Vincent De Paul and ABF The Soldiers' Charity

7. Minutes

To authorise the Town Mayor to sign the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 9th May 2022 as a true and correct record of the proceedings. (to be tabled)

8. Membership of Committees

Councillor Jane Birch will propose and Councillor Mike Hallam will second: That subject to any further amendment, the following Committee membership as attached be approved

The Mayor Making reception will be held on Wednesday 18th May at the Guildhall at 6 pm.



Tel: 01604 349310

Agenda Item No 8

Proposed Committee Membership

Members of the Policy and Finance Committee:

Councillors Marriott (Chair), T Eales (Vice Chair), Alwahabi, Birch, Connolly, G Eales, Hallam, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere, Kilbride, Purser, Russell, Stevens and Tarasiewicz

Members of the Environmental Services Committee:

Councillors Stevens, (Chair), Kilbride (Deputy Chair), Alwahabi, Ashraf, Brown, Choudary, Haque, Joyce, Meredith, Miah, Soa, and Tarasiewicz

Members of the Community Services Committee

Councillors Birch (Chair), Holland-Delamere (Deputy Chair), Ashraf, G Eales, T Eales, Fuchshuber, Hallam, Hibbert, Ismail, Lane, Marriott and Soan

Members of the Planning Committee:

Councillors Connolly (Chair), Russell (Deputy Chair), Brown, Choudary, Fuchshuber, Haque, Ismail, Lane, Meredith, Miah, Purser and Stevens

Sub Committees and Working Group

Members of the Accounts Sub-Committee:

Cllrs Marriott (Chair), Birch, Hibbert and Purser

Members of the Grants Sub Committee:

Cllrs Birch (Chair), T Eales, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere Named substitute: Cllr Lane

Members of the Staffing Sub-Committee

Councillors Birch, T Eales, Hibbert, Kilbride, Marriott, Purser, Russell

Members of the Civic Matters Working Group:

Councillors Marriott (Chair), Choudary, G Eales, Hibbert (Deputy Mayor), Lane, Meredith (Mayor)