

Northampton Town Council The Guildhall St Giles Square Northampton NN1 1DE

Tel: 01604 349310 www.northamptontowncouncil.gov.uk

### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING AND MAYOR MAKING

### HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBER,

# NORTHAMPTON GUILDHALL

### Monday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2022 – 11:00

# **PRESENT:** Councillor D Meredith (Northampton Town Mayor);

Councillor S Hibbert (Deputy Town Mayor)

COUNCILLORS: J Alwahabi, R Ashraf, J Birch, N Choudary, M Hallam, E Haque, J Fuchshuber,

K Holland-Delamere, F Ismail, P Joyce, A Kilbride, J Lane, L Marriott, T Miah, B Purser,

C Russell, A Stevens, D Soan, W Tarasiewicz

**OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE:** S Carter (Town Clerk), J Thorneycroft (Assistant Town Clerk), L Hawkins (Civic and Mayoralty Officer), F Barford (Democratic Services Officer), Josephine Haines (Events and Projects Officer), L Hannam-Jones (Events and Project Officer), D Peach (Macebearer)

There were approximately 20 invited guests and members of public present.

The outgoing Mayor thanked her family in particular her husband Mr Abu Ashraf, fellow councillors and officers for their support over her Mayoral year. Cllr Ashraf stated that she had had the most wonderful year and that she had been proud to serve the town of Northampton.

# 1 ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

Cllr M Hallam proposed that Cllr D Meredith be elected as Town Mayor for the forthcoming municipal year 2022/23. In proposing Cllr Meredith, Cllr Hallam highlighted the work Cllr Meredith had undertaken in his community, his service on the former Northampton Borough Council and also his love of Northampton.

In seconding Cllr Meredith's nomination, Cllr Birch highlighted Cllr Meredith's ties to Northampton having moved from London and how he had represented his constituents in Talavera ward for many years, both on NBC and now on the Town Council and West Northants Council.

There were no further nominations.

**RESOLVED:** That Cllr D Meredith is elected as Mayor of Northampton for 2022/23.

Cllr R Ashraf removed the Chains of Office and disrobed and handed them to the Macebearer. Cllr R Ashraf took her seat in the Council Chamber.

Cllr D Meredith received the chain of office and robe from the Macebearer. Cllr Meredith then read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was attested by the Town Clerk. The Mayoress, Mrs Rona Meredith was then presented with her chain of office.

In response to his election the Town Mayor thanked ClIrs Hallam and Birch for their nomination and their kind words. The Town Mayor also thanked his fellow councillors for the honour and his Mayoress, Mrs Rona Meredith, for her unflinching support over the years. The Town Mayor also paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor for her hard work over the past year.

The Town Mayor paid tribute to the town of Northampton and its long and proud history. The Town Mayor stated how humbled he was to have been given the opportunity to serve the people of Northampton. He went on to state that he looked forward to welcoming charities and community groups to the Mayor's Parlour.

The Mayor stated that his charities would be the Army Benevolent Fund and the St Vincent De Paul Society, both of which carried out great work in Northampton.

# 2. VOTE OF TANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR AND CONSORT

A vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor was proposed by Cllr Birch. Cllr Birch highlighted the hard work and dedication of Cllr Ashraf and highlighted her ability to connect with of our community. Cllr Birch also praised the outgoing Consort, Mr Abu Ashraf, who had supported the Mayor and the couple's children during what had been an extremely busy time.

Cllr Fuchshuber seconded this vote of thanks.

**RESOLVED:** That the outgoing Mayor Cllr R Ashraf and her consort Mr A Ashraf receive a vote of thanks from Northampton Town Council.

The outgoing Mayor and Consort were both presented with their Past Mayor and Consort badges and bouquets of flowers

### 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor R Ashraf proposed that Cllr S Hibbert be elected Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2022/23. Cllr Kilbride seconded this motion.

There were no other nominations.

**RESOLVED:** That Cllr S Hibbert be elected as Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2022/23.

Cllr Hibbert received his robe and chain from the Macebearer. Cllr Hibbert read and signed his declaration of acceptance of office which was attested to by the Town Clerk.

The Deputy Mayor's Consort Mrs Liz Cox received her Chain of Office.

# 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted by Councillors Brown, T Eales, G Eales, and Connolly.

#### 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 6. MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

The Town Mayor made the following appointments:

- Chaplain Father Brendon McDermott
- Macebearer Mr Dave Peach
- Mayor's Cadet Leading Cadet Aziz Corsaro
- Mayor's Charites St Vincent De Paul and ABF The Solders' Charity

### 7. MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING

Circulated with the agenda were the minutes of the Council meeting held 9<sup>th</sup> May 2022.

**RESOLVED:** That the Town Mayor be authorised to sign them as a true and correct record of proceedings.

### 8. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

**RESOLVED:** That the following committee membership be agreed:

### Members of the Policy and Finance Committee:

Councillors Marriott (Chair), T Eales (Vice Chair), Alwahabi, Birch, Connolly, G Eales, Hallam, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere, Kilbride, Purser, Russell, Stevens and Tarasiewicz

### Members of the Environmental Services Committee:

Councillors Stevens, (Chair), Kilbride (Deputy Chair), Alwahabi, Ashraf, Brown, Choudary, Haque, Joyce, Meredith, Miah, Soan, and Tarasiewicz

#### Members of the Community Services Committee

Councillors Birch (Chair), Holland-Delamere (Deputy Chair), Ashraf, G Eales, T Eales, Fuchshuber, Hallam, Hibbert, Ismail, Lane, Marriott and Soan

### Members of the Planning Committee:

Councillors Connolly (Chair), Russell (Deputy Chair), Brown, Choudary, Fuchshuber, Haque, Ismail, Lane, Meredith, Miah, Purser and Stevens

### Members of the Accounts Sub-Committee:

Cllrs Marriott (Chair), Birch, Hibbert and Purser

# Members of the Grants Sub Committee:

Cllrs Birch (Chair), T Eales, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere Named substitute: Cllr Lane

### Members of the Staffing Sub-Committee

Councillors Birch, T Eales, Hibbert, Kilbride, Marriott, Purser, Russell

### Members of the Civic Matters Working Group:

Councillors Marriott (Chair), Choudary, G Eales, Hibbert (Deputy Mayor), Lane, Meredith (Mayor)

The Mayor thanked everybody for attending and reminded them that his reception would be held on the evening of the 18<sup>th</sup> May 2022 at the Guildhall.

# **MEETING CONCLUDED 11.45**