FULL COUNCIL – 20TH MAY 2024

MINUTES OF THE FULL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 20^{TH} MAY 2024 AT 5:30PM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER OF THE GUILDHALL, NORTHAMPTON

PRESENT: Councillor S Hibbert (Town Mayor)

Councillor P. Joyce (Deputy Mayor)

COUNCILLORS: J Alwahabi, R Ashraf, J Birch, N Choudary, K Evans, M Hallam, E Haque, K Holland-Delamere,

F Ismail, A Kilbride, J Lane, L Marriott, T Miah, A Stevens, B Purser and W Tarasiewicz

OFFICERS PRESENT: Mr S Carter (Town Clerk), Mrs J Thorneycroft (Assistant Town Clerk), Mrs C Maclellan

Responsible Finance Officer), Miss L Hawkins (Mayoral Officer), Miss C Burke (Mayoral Support) Miss F Barford (Democratic Services Officer), Miss S Kennedy (Communications Officer), Mr C Osborn (Community Engagement Officer), Miss J Haines, Miss N Haviland and

Mrs L Hanam-Jones (Events & Projects Officers)

OTHERS PRESENT: Ms Liz Cox (Mayoress), Mr David Peach (Macebearer) and Cannon Michael Webber

(Mayor's Chaplain) with approximately 50 guests.

The Mayor expressed his gratitude on being provided the opportunity to become 783rd Mayor of Northampton and all the people who have supported him throughout his mayoral year, especially his Mayoress Liz Cox. The Mayor stated he had attended many engagements and it was a delight meeting the people of Northampton.

The Mayor explained he'd attended over 370 engagements visiting local businesses, charities, community groups and events supporting other charity initiatives. The Mayor was pleased to announce during his mayoral year £24,000 was raised for his chosen charity, Spencer Contact.

1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

Cllr Holland-Delamere proposed that Cllr P Joyce be elected Town Mayor of Northampton for the ensuing Municipal Year. In proposing Councillor Holland-Delamere explained how Cllr Joyce had strong links with the Eastern District of Northampton and how throughout his life continually represented his Royal Mail colleagues, residents and businesses. In seconding Cllr Hallam highlighted Cllr Joyce's character and his ability to work collaboratively to the benefit of his ward residents at both the former County Council, Northampton Borough Council and now the Town Council.

There were no further nominations.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Paul Joyce be elected as the Town May of Northampton for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Cllr Hibbert removed the Chains of Officer and disrobed and thee to the Macebearer then, took his seat in the Council Chamber. Cllr Joyce received the Chains of Office and robe from the Macebearer then, read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office which was attested by the Town Clerk. The Mayoress, Mrs Mylissa Joyce was then presented with the Chains of Office.

In response to his election, the Town Mayor Cllr Joyce expressed his gratitude for Cllrs Holland-Delamere and Hallam's kind words and that this was one of his proudest achievements. The Mayor stated his mayoralty would oversee the 80-year anniversary for D-Day and the 350-year anniversary of the Great Fire of Northampton next

year. The Mayor added how he was excited to engage with the community and open the parlour to community groups.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Cllr Lane proposed a vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor Cllr Hibbert and his Mayoress Liz Cox. In proposing Cllr Lane stated that both Cllr Hibbert and Miss Cox had upheld their duties with great passion in the last year.

In seconding, Cllr Ashraf expressed her thanks to the outgoing Mayor and Mayoress for representing and demonstrating the values of Northampton Town.

RESOLVED: The outgoing Mayor Cllr S Hibbert and his Mayoress Miss Liz Cox received a vote of thanks from Northampton Town Council.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

Cllr Marriott proposed that Cllr J Birch be elected the Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year. In proposing Cllr Marriott highlighted Cllr Birch's commitment to serve and support the community through her roles at the former County Council, Northampton Borough Council and now the Town Council. He added Cllr Birch alongside her husband continue to champion the community via their roles within Community Spaces Northampton that safeguarded community centres for community use.

In seconding, Cllr Ashraf stated she had known Cllr Birch and Mr Birch for an extended period of time since she was a teacher at Trinity Secondary School and she would make an outstanding Deputy Mayor.

There were no further nominations.

RESOLVED: That Councillor J Birch be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year.

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were submitted by Councillors Meredith and Fuchshuber.

5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were submitted.

6. MAYORAL APPOINTMENTS

The Town Mayor made the following appointments:

- Mayor's Chaplain Rev Adam Eakins
- Macebearer Dave Peach
- Mayor's Cadet Cadet Corporal Oscar Pancoust
- Mayor's Charity The Lewis Foundation

7. MINUTES

RESOLVED: The Town Mayor was authorised to sign the minutes of the previous meeting of the council held on 29th April 2024 as a true and accurate record of the proceedings.

8. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED: The following committee membership as outlined below be approved and adopted.

Members of the Policy and Finance Committee: 14

Councillors Marriott (Chair), Evans (Vice Chair), Alwahabi, Birch, Connolly, Hallam, Haque, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere, Kilbride, Purser, Russell, Stevens and Tarasiewicz

Members of the Environmental Services Committee: 12

Councillors Stevens, (Chair), Kilbride (Deputy Chair), Ashraf, Brown, Choudary, Fuchshuber, Joyce, McNicholas, Meredith, Miah, Soan and Tarasiewicz

Members of the Community Services Committee: 12

Councillors Birch (Chair), Holland-Delamere (Deputy Chair), Alwahabi, Evans, Hallam, Hibbert, Ismail, Lane, Marriott, Miah, Russell and Soan

Members of the Planning Committee: 12

Councillors Connolly (Chair), Haque (Vice Chair), Brown, Birch, Choudary, Fuchshuber, Ismail, Joyce, Lane, McNicholas, Meredith and Purser

Members of the Accounts Sub-Committee: 4

Cllrs Marriott (Chair), Birch, Evans and Hibbert

Members of the Grants Sub Committee: 5 + 1 for Environmental Grants

Cllrs Birch (Chair), Alwahabi, Hibbert, Holland-Delamere and Russell (Stevens for Environmental Grants)
Named substitute: Cllr Lane

Members of the Staffing Sub-Committee

Councillors Marriott (Chair) Birch (Vice Chair), Hibbert, Kilbride, Purser and Russell

9. CLOSING OF THE MEETING

The Town Mayor thanked attendees for their attendance to the meeting and formally closed the meeting.

MEETING CONCLUDED: 6:20PM

X

Councillor. Paul Joyce Northampton Town Mayor